top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNiky Sama

No spend month

Updated: Jun 6, 2019

Hey guys! I forgot to tell you that May 2019 is my #nospendmonth • I am going to continue to pay my regular bills and bills that already include other members of my family like @netflix , however, I will not be buying any recreational or pleasure items and when buying food outside it will not go over $7 per person and just once a week. • My challenge to you, friends, is to join me for my no spend month.

Now, you can’t just jump into a no spend month and expect things to run smoothly. A month with no spending requires a little planning and prep work. And, no doubt, your creativity will have to kick in to solve some problems during the month. But the idea is to stretch yourself and your money. Think of it as a game you intend to win. • I will start showing you tips that I find on the internet as well as a statement of my credit cards and bank accounts to show my progress!! This is pretty difficult for me. The only extra money for the month I have to spend is $12 in coins and only the cash I have in my wallet. The good part of this challenge is that I can use my rewards in the month of May to pay for whatever I want because they are gifts from a thought out financial journey.


For today's update in the #nospendmonth I will be downloading a new app apparently made by Puertoricans Qoins: Pay off Debt Faster

I don't know anything about the app so I will copy/paste some information here:

"One way I'm making extra debt payments is with Qoins. When you sign up for Qoins, you connect your bank account and then spend as you normally would. Qoins will round up your purchases to the nearest dollar and put that change towards an extra debt payment.
Basically, Qoins will help you pay down debt faster by applying an extra payment for you by using your spare change. There is a $1.99 charge each month. However, they take it out of the spare change they set aside for you so you never see a charge in your bank account. If there isn’t at least $10 in your Qoins account they will roll that amount into the next month free of charge."

I did download this app but after researching the information I figured out that it will not be for me because I don't use my bank account, I mostly use credit cards and make a payment of the statement balance to avoid interest charges but also get rewards from the different cards, at some point I have had so many rewards in my Gap credit card that I have lost them or give them to my sister for her to use, I have also done shopping sprees with my rewards.


How many rewards cards do I have?


Most of my cards have a purpose, my first credit card for my new credit as an adult was a Discover card for college students, they will check your college status to be able to approve you but you get the first year 0% interest for purchases, Cashback from all your purchases and also balance transfer offers with as low as 1% transfer fee and a $20 statement credit per semester if you have honor roll status 3.0 GPA or more. I will continue to give more information on my other credit cards and why I chose them in my upcoming blogs. Also I will have a Dapper Day Profiles blog and 2 restaurant reviews including Gudvibes in Aguadilla.

If you are interested in the Discover card you can apply through here:


http://refer.discover.com/s/kkxgop and both of us will receive a $50 statement credit when you get approve and make a purchase. Discover it® Chrome for Students







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page